Stepping Down From Management of #FABlogCon

 

Handmade Stained Glass  Teal Ribbons by Borealis Baubles
(image: Handmade Stained Glass Teal Ribbons by Borealis Baubles)

I would like to share that I am stepping down from management of the Food Allergy Bloggers Conference.  I am grateful for the experiences and connections made through my participation in planning the event for November 2013 and again for September 2014.  I’ve had questions about 2015 and thought it best to share that I will not be involved next year.

It is through meeting so many of you that I have learned more about myself.  It is through working to put the event on here in Las Vegas two years in a row that I have made connections that make this city feel more than ever like home.

I wrote in April about a movie my cousin made called Helsinki-Tehran and the words feel applicable here:

My sister in law once told me she values her drive home from work.  If she was able to teach near her home she would miss it, the chance to unpack her thoughts from the day, to be silent after teaching elementary school children all day.  To switch from her teacher self to her self-self (my words, not hers, I promise she is much more erudite).

Mom has a “hospital voice” and I think I have a “work voice” too.  And a “court voice.”  And the voice when no one is listening.

I think I like that last one best.

When you’re always at work, there is no coming home in the classic drive home sense but instead I have moments, glimmers, of coming home and they happen randomly.  Sometimes it is late at night when I finally flick off the light in my home office/laundry room.  Sometimes it is the sound of my husband’s key in the door signalling that I can come home too.

So I continue in my gratitude for my journey and the lessons.  For being able to “come home” even though I never actually left.

What the conference stands for is the breaking of the mentality that we are competing against one another.  We are collaborating and lifting one another up.  It is bigger than any one person can lay claim to, though the credit can certainly be shared.  Jenny Sprague‘s vision has been embraced so wholeheartedly by this community that I leave knowing that she has the support of many in continuing the tradition of bringing people together to share in the causes that find us.

Hearing Elisa Camahort Page speak at the 2014 conference was a watershed moment for me.  The stories of our mothers and grandmothers need not be lost, nor our own stories.  That is why when people ask if there is room for a new blogger I will always say, “yes.”  If there wasn’t such space we wouldn’t have wonderful bloggers like Sharon at Nut Free Wok or Tiffany at Food Allergy Pharmacist to bring their fresh perspectives and stories to the table.  I would have never had reason to discover the adventures of Karen at Sweeten the Trip, Jessica at Food Allergy Sleuth, or Annelies at The Food Poet (to name just a few).

Shortly after the conference I was honored by a local magazine as a “top” attorney in Southern Nevada for 2014.  It came out of nowhere and I was incredibly humbled.  It felt like a little bit of public validation for so many hours of work.  So, please remember:  Your words matter.  Your heart matters.  Your integrity matters.  And keep fighting the good fight for awareness, inclusion, and an independent supportive community.

Homa Woodrum
homa@woodrumlaw.com

25 thoughts on “Stepping Down From Management of #FABlogCon

  1. Homa-
    Sorry to hear you go but (I feel) you ill still be a part of it one way or another and that’s what counts. Being a mom and juggling work as well, I know it’s difficult to have to choose rather than say yes to everything but I know your heart is in the right place. I know we will see each other again~

    Like

    1. Tracy, you are so sweet! Yes, I think the juggle is something we’re all very familiar with – even when it means passing up on great opportunities to make a course correction. It has been a pleasure to get to know you and I am sure we will stay in touch!

      Like

  2. I’m sure planning this awesome event was SO much work. I completely understand. I hope the event still goes on next year – it was such a wonderful experience! Thanks for all the work you did!

    Like

    1. Kathryn – Thank you so much for your kind words! It was such a pleasure to connect!

      I am sure if you follow @FABlogCon on twitter you’ll get all the updates about 2015! You can also check out this post that went up this morning.

      Like

  3. Homa, while I have regretted not being able to participate in the conference each of the past two years, the work you and Jenny have put in has clearly paid off – it is crystal clear in the voices of our community. I know my colleague Jesse felt so quickly embraced and welcomed by everyone after attending just this last one.

    6 years ago, I too had to make a “course correction” in my work-life balance. It was scary, but I knew that there was no reward without risk. I have never looked back. (And then I found this new thing called AllergyEats, which I love!)

    Good luck and keep in touch!

    Like

    1. Thank you so much, Paul, I am excited for what the future holds for me. And I am thrilled that Jesse had a great experience. She is so sweet and wonderful, I was glad to meet her! Congratulations also on your successful conference, I followed all the updates and it sounded fantastic!

      Like

  4. Homa, your self-expression is always so elegant. Thank you for all your hard work and all the long hours that you put into FABlogCon to make it such a wonderful event. Enjoy your free time or whatever other adventures you decide to take on. 🙂 And thank you for mentioning my blog, which I wouldn’t have had the courage to try without what I learned last year!!

    Like

  5. Homa, I can only imagine how much time it must have taken to put on a conference, practice law and parent! Wow! With the way you embrace your endeavors, it must have been tough. Thank you for your wonderful contributions. I look forward to keeping up via your blog and fb. Thank you so much for mentioning my blog. Your encouragement means a lot to me! Best wishes!

    Like

  6. Homa, thank you for all you did to make the first two conferences such a success! Congratulations on your recognition as a top attorney. The reassuring part of your announcement is that I know this is not a goodbye, but rather, a new beginning for you.

    Like

  7. Homa,
    Thank you for your work to help the community come together in such a supportive and tangible way. You helped our community form cohesive connections that help our movements gain stronger footing, and each person live within a net of stronger support.
    It takes a great deal of courage to follow the path your heart hints toward when the reasons to stay true to other paths seem to be so logical. Thank you for having the courage to follow your heart. Trust your journey. The results make your soul sing.

    Like

    1. Tanya, you put it so much better than I could – sometimes the logical path is not the right one at a given moment. It means a lot that you, and so many others, understand. It has been such a treat to get to know you in person and online, thank you!

      Like

    1. That means a lot, Colette, I’ve been feeling a little like I was going to have to leave it all behind but you’ve all been so great about it. Thank you again for everything you do for the community!

      Like

  8. Homa – you will be missed, my friend! Thank you for your tireless efforts these past two years in working to enhance and grow the food allergy community. We will undoubtedly keep collaborating and lifting one another up – both at Food Allergy Bloggers Conference and beyond. All the very best to you.

    Like

    1. Veronica – you’re so kind, thank you! Your Inc. interview is a perfect example of lifting people up and giving credit where it is due re: FACET and the Teal Pumpkin Project. We all benefit when we share ideas and resources for sure. I will certainly keep following developments in the community and sharing what I can!

      Like

  9. What you have helped start is truly amazing and I know you have helped lay a solid foundation for many years to come. I have enjoyed getting to meet you and instantly felt a connection to you and so many others at FABlogCon! We’re all on a journey together and our roles continually change, but all along the way we do the best we can to make the world a little better. By the way, thank you for the shout-out! Many hugs to you, Homa.

    Like

  10. Homa, you’ve done amazing work and leave a legacy in FABlogCon – a gift for all of us that will continue to grow. I can’t wait to see everything that you undoubtedly will exceed in and accomplish as you continue your journey. Lucky for us, once a part of the food allergy family, always a part and we’ll continue to connect, support and celebrate in many ways! xxoo -H

    Like

    1. Heather, you and your husband are such rock stars, I love that I’ve gotten to know you both these past two years! I’m blushing at your kind words and support. Thank you, thank you, thank you!

      Like

Comments are closed.