EpiPen and Auvi-Q Expiration Date Frustrations

(Update from 7/30/14: Click here to read statements from both companies referenced below)

When we re-fill epinephrine auto-injector prescriptions it feels a little like checking a scratch card – what will the expiration date be?  I think many of you are in the same situation.

Auv-Q Purchased 5/12/14 with 1/2015 Expiration Date
Auvi-Q Purchased 5/12/14 at Target Pharmacy with 1/2015 Expiration Date

This is not a new issue, I mentioned it in my post about the most recent Legislative Healthcare Committee Meeting and in my Mylan Summit post, but as I type this is I have just returned from paying $233.86 (after the $100 copay card, Mylan has one as well) for an Auvi-Q epinephrine auto-injector set  of two that expires January 2015.  The last Auvi-Q I obtained had an expiration date fourteen months out from the date of purchase and this one is 8 months.  So I know it is possible to be 12-14 months out on an auto-injector.  Anything less than a year is a problem considering the costs for families alone and that the high cost may cause families to stop filling their prescriptions.

Our Voices are Louder Together

I am fortunate that I can pay the cost of the medication (our insurance does not cover or alleviate prescription drug costs) but that does not mean it is ideal.  I specifically requested that they order the Auvi-Q last week in hopes of getting a newer one but it was not enough.  I would love to gather your experiences and submit them to both Mylan and Sanofi as there has to be a better option in all of this. 

When I saw the Auvi-Q expiration date I asked to see an EpiPen one and it was February of 2015 to the Auvi-Q’s January 2015.  I stuck with the Auvi-Q because the voice guidance puts my daughter’s teacher at ease and because the expiration date was not that much better (February 2015).  Still a significant amount of time less than the 12 months we all aim for.  After, I called Jenny and vented and she suggested that I should have left the medicine there and called around town to find a better expiration date but we’re already 12 days into May and my daughter’s injector expired April 2014.  So here I am, hoping that when the time comes in January to obtain a refill that there will have been true changes in the system so that other families as well as ours are not in the same boat.  Also feeling grateful that I have people I can call and know they will share my frustration about things like this.

Anecdotal reports include hearing that pharmacies in town offering a discount on injectors that expire sooner (like 50% off on one that is six months out) but I don’t know which pharmacy that would be.  We only buy one set every time we need a refill because of the cost and because my daughter self carries.  I carry an expired set in my purse just because something is better than nothing as a backup.

Let’s Discuss…

At any rate, please let me know either at my email homa at woodrumlaw dot com or here in the comments about your experiences and I would like to put together a letter to both Mylan and Sanofi asking about our options.  I have a feeling that the issue is on the pharmacy side of things because reps from Mylan and Sanofi have mentioned that the dates should be at least a year out.  I am not placing blame as much as feeling baffled that if companies are telling me all pharmacies have to do is exchange older injectors for newer ones, why are they not doing it?  Why discount them or force them on consumers that aren’t going to risk not having them in the event of an allergic emergency.

Thank you in advance for your input on this one, I will keep you posted.

Disclosure: I attended Mylan’s Summit last month but my opinions are my own – more detailed disclosure here and here.  Sanofi and Mylan have both been sponsors of the Food Allergy Bloggers Conference, of which I am a co-owner.  My opinions, as always, are my own and are not representative of my position at Food Allergy Bloggers Conference LLC or the real or perceived benefits from either company. 

80 thoughts on “EpiPen and Auvi-Q Expiration Date Frustrations

  1. How timely. After an appeal with UnitedHealthcare this week, they have refused to cover the Auvi-Q for my first grader, which we prefer her to carry because of the voice activation. Our pharmacy has advised me it is $395 for the pair and the expiry date was just 8 months out – ‘best they could do’. Luckily, I am off to Vancouver, Canada this week. I called ahead and had our old Canadian doctor phone in a prescription for an Allerject (the Canadian name for Auvi-Q) and I will pick one up this Friday for $95 (no insurance coverage) and an expiry date of June 2015.

    Like

    1. Heather, this is great input. I’ve had a few people email me privately already and there has been discussion on twitter as well. Thank you for sharing your experience, I will keep you posted.

      Like

    2. Last year I was easily able to get Auvi-Q 0.3 with a 12 month shelf life. Today ( 12/19/14) most of the ones available are expiring in May 2015. I don’t know if this is:
      1. Simply a random occurrence OR
      2. The drug company has determined in all honesty that a 1 year shelf life makes the chemicals significantly degrade to the point of it becoming a safety issue OR
      3. Simple greed- print the shelf life as 6 months and double your sales…I sincerely hope that is not the case..

      Like

      1. No one will really answer the question of why they are pushing old product and why they don’t have newer stock if we refuse old product. On the one hand we’re told to check the expiration date before we leave the pharmacy but I’d rather have some epinephrine than none so I’m at a disadvantage in that dynamic. I think that maybe they made X amount and then insurance companies aren’t covering it as equally as other options so they’re sitting on the shelves. I have to pay cash for both the Epi or the Auvi but if the Epi was $0 out of pocket and the Auvi was full price I know what I’d have to choose. Most of all, what if these pricey injectors are discouraging families from carrying any epinephrine at all? I wish I had answers but I certainly appreciate the discussion here.

        Like

  2. Hi Homa, If you want an anecdote from Switzerland… 🙂 We picked up 2 new EpiPens in January 2014. They expire in June 2014, which we realized after we got home. I’m picking up 2 more soon and will let you know what I find out from the pharmacy here. Thanks for compiling this info and being an advocate for us and others on this. Curious to hear your update and will check in with folks here on this as well. Have a good weekend. I’ll be in touch. -Heddi

    Like

    1. This is great information, I have information from all over to add this to as well as a pending inquiry to a pharmacist that is a friend of a reader. The fact that this reaches overseas is very important I think! Did you have a co-pay on the prescription?

      Like

  3. Homa,

    I have refused to accept Epi Pens in the past with short expiration dates. It’s the pharmacist who wants to sell the short dates. One even made a statement saying they have to earn money too.

    I often do call around asking about expiration dates.

    I am cash pay and this is an issue for me. With the rising costs and two kids requiring epinephrine, I’m very concerned with pricing and expiration dates. I can’t find Auvi-Q for under $400 in Reno. Cheaper in Vegas?

    Can you share which pharmacy you used or email me the name?

    Like

    1. I was at Target Pharmacy in Henderson, NV, I think Costco’s pharmacy is on par with their prices too – at least for epis, not sure about the auvis. I actually have some pharmacists telling me that it is a wholesaler issue, and one person emailed me that they went to Canada and got a cheaper one AND it had a 15 month out expiration date. Time for a road trip, eh? Thank you for your input as well, I know both companies are emphatic that people should be getting at least 12 months out on their injectors so someone, somewhere, is not rotating their stock at all.

      Like

  4. I just utilized both $0 copay coupons for EpiPen and Auvi-Q, got home and my EpiPens were fine (datewise) but then I noticed that the Auvi’Q’s were NOT a full year. One expires 12/14 and the other 1/15. I was really angry- what is that about Sanofi? Don’t get me wrong, I understand that things happen, shipments get crossed, boxes don’t get recirculated for dates, etc but I am not the only one seeing this so what gives? Your product is convenient but in the food allergy community, showing a true passion for us rather than how much money you ca make often sticks with us better (my opinion). Mylan has shown this time and time again (no offense) so my advice to you is to take a moment to consider how to fix this problem NOW. I am lucky enough to have one awesome pharmacy (Robinhood Family Pharmacy) that personally called me the very next morning to take care of it for me- I didn’t have to drive back, didn’t have to get all worked up- this is the type of support those with food allergies need. It’s really very simple- do it right the first time and do it well.

    Like

    1. Thank you for your input, Tracy! It seems that the issue is with the distributors – the companies aren’t sending out old product, but somehow there seems to be little to no stock rotation on some of these. I’ve heard of epi pens with 6 month expiration dates so I’m glad that you’re having a good experience with Mylan, I’ve had Auvi-Qs in the past with 14 month out expiration dates so I am starting to think both companies are having a distribution issue on this.

      Like

  5. I’m very fed up with both
    Companies for either withholding or not producing enough meds to fill prescriptions. I’ve always refused to accept any epi with less than a 12 moth expiration date. I’ve had a Auvi-Q prescription for over a month and can’t find any pharmacy in town with a date further out than Dec. 2014. We have high deductible insurance and would owe over 300 AFTER using the $100 copay card. That is riduclous for a med I’ll have to replace in 6 months. I refuse. Luckily I have epi pens that will last us until the fall. I’d love to know why this is happening. In thought competition in the marketplace was supposed to be good for the consumer. I feel like they are holding us hostage and quite honestly right now I don’t have a good attitude toward the Auvi Q manufacturer.

    Like

    1. We are in a similar boat where things are costly even after the copay card. I am finding that the companies are saying they ship with far enough out expiration dates but that the distributors aren’t rotating stock. What pharmacies have you been using? Thanks for your input, Mel!

      Like

  6. I love the Auvi-Q. Our six expired in April. I called around and the best date I could find was 12/14 in the LA/San Fernando Valley area. I used the $0 co-pay card so with insurance they were free. I will need more for school which begins in August. I am waiting hoping for better expiration dates. Every pharmacy I called said that was the best date they could get even special ordering for me from the warehouse. If you call Sanofi customer service, they will exchange for Auvi-Q’s with under six months before expiring through 2014. But they don’t say why we can’t ones with longer dates. Very frustrating to say the least.

    Like

    1. Thank you so much for the input, Vivian, that is very frustrating. I do wonder why there’s the distinction between the six month ones and the others – and does it mean you can wait a month or two on one that expires, say, in 8 months, and then exchange them…? Hoping to gather together the e-mails and comments I’ve received and inform both companies of what is going on in the marketplace.

      Like

  7. My pharmacist reordered my Auvi-Q’s but we still only got Dec 2104 and January 2015 (hmmm, is it me or is anyone else noticing a trend in the dates?). Luckily, he is wonderful and he has put another call into them to see what the latest possible date they have in stock. However, in my opinion, this should not even be something that has to be checked or reordered. Many are saying that because of the $0 copay they are trying to unload the lesser dated boxes. I would just be happy with accurate consistenecy.

    Like

    1. Pharmacies keep telling people it is the company that is providing old ones but I don’t believe either company provides them directly to pharmacies. I think it would be good to know what a brand new one has as an expiration. I have had an Auvi-Q with a 14 month out date, the furthest I’ve seen on an Epi-Pen is 12 months. I think the expiration dates are a huge issue because there was that one tragic case where emergency assistance advised a family over the phone not to use an expired injector when in theory using an expired one may be better than none at all (disclaimer of course that I’m not a physician, this is just anecdotal).

      Like

  8. Just spoke to our pharmacist and she said the reason why I received two sets of AuviQs on May 12th with an expiration of December 31, 2014 is because that is all the company is sending them. They offered to take them back and also did alert me when I first filled the scrip that the expiration was in December. Im going to include pics of what I received. Not sure how to put a pic on here, but our pharmacist had to scratch out what the computer printed out for the expiration date of May 12, 2015 and she wrote 12/31/2014.

    Like

    1. Thank you Donna! That is very helpful, I am glad they offered to take them back. The hard thing with that offer, as we all know, is you don’t want to walk out of the pharmacy without one, even if the expiration date isn’t great. Our hands are tied in that regard.

      Like

  9. I refilled a prescription on 5-16-14 at a CVS in Connecticut.
    Both new pens expire in Sept 2015, so it looks to me as though some pharmacies out there are simply purging older inventory first…as if parenting kids with severe allergies isn’t stressful enough! Thank you for advocating for us!
    P.S. I have inquired for years about recycling. Wouldn’t that be a way of keeping costs down, especially for those who do not have the relief of insurance copays? I’ve been told that nothing along those lines is set up for unused pens. Wouldn’t it make sense to have unused pens recycled vs. discarded? It seems like such a waste!!

    Like

    1. THAT is an awesome idea!! I have a bag full of expired/used to EpiPen train items and I hate to put them into the garbage but where should they go??? Pharmacies won’t take them..

      Like

    2. I know my friend Jenny has raised the recycling issue too – she keeps asking the same thing you do, that the pens can go to benefit someone else. I am not sure what liability is at play but considering the injector is the expensive part of the equation (just epinephrine is not expensive on its own) you’d think recycling would be an option. Some allergists advise using expired ones to practice on fruit, like an orange, to familiarize yourself with the real deal but when we’re paying hundreds of dollars of course we wouldn’t want to waste something that can be so life saving. Thank you for commenting, Annie!

      Like

    3. Where in CT did you buy yours? I live in NJ and am only seeing Dec 2014 dating or Jan 2015. Would love to get Auvi-Q with longer dating and am heading to CT tomorrow! Thx!

      Like

  10. Update- my pharmacy had to reorder the Auvi-Q’s twice and the closest dates that we got were 11 months out. But he was amazing- he called them, took care of everything and I know it’s not the pharmacy that is holding certain dates, its the distribution area. I hope all of you are fortunate enough to have a dedicated pharmacy for your family because that’s half the battle.

    Like

  11. Just spoke with Sanofi and they took all my personal information and said they will need original receipt (which pharmacies can supply up to a year). They will send me paperwork via email and once Sanofi receives that information, they will contact me by phone. The gentleman I spoke with said they are gong to give me new AuviQs (which I have 2 sets) with longer expiration date. When I asked him why they are doing this, he said he can’t comment and that I should ask my pharmacy. When I told him I did ask the pharmacy and they said its because the company won’t send them anything else, he said he can’t comment. I smell a rat 🙂

    Like

      1. I would also like to add that I asked the gentleman I spoke with 3 times why they are sending pharmacies AuviQs with these expiration dates and all 3 times he tried to dodge the question. I told him that Sanofi is the one responsible for sending out the epinephrine injectors, so it’s their responsibility to send ones that don’t expire in 6 months. I told him I know there a hundreds, if not thousands of other people who are in the same situation as I am with early expiration dates and everyone is talking about it. We are lucky that we are covered but for the people that aren’t, my heart goes out to them….

        Like

      2. Happened to me today, couldn’t get any epi-pen or Auvi – Q that didn’t expire in less than 8 months…stupid….we pay so much for these and we can’t get ones that last at least a year

        Like

  12. Similar story here in the suburban Detroit. I checked at my local pharmacies.. two CVS stores, Rite Aid, Costco, and Target… and the Auvi-Q injectors all expired in less than 7 months (most commonly Jan 2015). The CVS pharmacist called the supplier and asked for later expiration date but was unsuccesssful. All came in with same date of Jan 2015.

    The Epi Pen brand, however, is available with 12 month expiration so I will have to buy that brand, as I am paying privately so nearly $300 for either brand even after $100 manufacturer coupon.

    Like

    1. I understand the pain of private pay – good for you for advocating for yourself with the pharmacy. This is very puzzling and I appreciate the detail you shared Perry! I will keep you posted!

      Like

  13. I am in Canada and have also been told by pharmacies “there is nothing they can do”. I was offered a November 2014 expiry today for full price!! The pharmacy leads me to believe that Sanofi will not send them new allerjects until the ones on hand are sold but when I called Sanofi they said the pharmacy should be ordering at my request not giving me “old stock”. What is the truth here? I don’t have drug insurance and have been told to carry 2 injectors! I called every where today and the best I could do was 11 months. I ordered from Costco which saved about 16$ over the other pharmacies..

    Like

    1. I can’t get over why, if no one is forcing pharmacies to give out old stock, they would say something like that. There has to be an angle somewhere. November 2014 is definitely unacceptable. Thank you for sharing, Barbara!

      Like

  14. I live in Austin TX, and just bought two sets of Auvi-Qs for $292 each (after coupon) with a March 2015 expiration date. I had my pharmacy order them several weeks ago – maybe a month, but still, if I had picked them up on time, they still would have only had a 10 month shelf life. I think anything less than 12 months is unacceptable for devices that cost almost $150 each, especially when the medication has an 18 month shelf life! Devices that will expire in 12 months should not be on the market. The pharmacist said they requested the longest expiration period available. This is a small local pharmacy that doesn’t keep Auvi-Qs in stock, so I know the boxes were ordered after I brought the prescription in, and not sitting on the pharmacy shelf.

    Like

    1. Great to know some March 2015 ones are out there, maybe things are turning around. Thank you so much for sharing your experience, Julie!

      Like

  15. I found this blog only after doing a web search about Auvi-Q expiration dates. I just received an order through CVS Caremark mail order with expiration dates of April 2014. Knowing what people have gone through, 11 months doesn’t seems that bad, but it is still unacceptable. I purposely order mine to coincide with the end of the school year, so I can be sure that they won’t expire mid-year.

    Like

    1. I think you really hit the nail on the head, 11 months isn’t terrible but it also isn’t fair when we know a brand new one can have an expiration of 14 months out. I am wondering if there’s something at play with pharmacies not ordering the Auvi because it isn’t being covered by many insurances so then they have old stock from when it first rolled out instead of keeping a rotating stock? Great tip about timing refills so they are good for the school year and thanks for reading Alissa!

      Like

  16. How frustrating! Just picked our first one up in northern CA with a six month expiration. It was the first time we got this brand, and I was wondering if they have a shorter shelf life compared to EpiPen or if we were shortchanged (which led me to your site). Thanks for this info… Now I know to advocate for a later date like I often have to do with the EpiPens we use. I can’t imagine the frustration at having to self-pay for these with a 6 month expiration. Awful!

    Like

    1. Hi Cait, keep fighting the good fight! I think both lines experience expiration date woes, but for some reason insurance companies aren’t including Auvi-Qs as often as Epi-Pens so I can see why pharmacies might not be keeping a well rotated stock of Auvi-Qs even though it is a Catch-22 where people won’t request them if the expiration dates are so poor but stock rotation needs demand. Thank you for reading and taking the time to comment!

      Like

      1. Hello, I would actually like to have a clearer picture about the “for some reason” insurance companies aren’t including [….]. Our insurance company, Premera, refused to cover a prescription of Auvi-Q although my son prefers that format of his Epinephryn injector, it fits better in his pocket… I do not understand why an insurance company would refuse to cover one and accepts the other (Premera indeed is including EpiPen)… I am baffled.

        Like

  17. Last year, I picked up my son’s first Auvi-Q… In November- the expiration date was 12/14… a year out. WONDERFUL. I had to refill this prescription for school yesterday and when I checked the expiration it is 12/14… 5 MONTHS out- This costs over 400 bucks and I only get 5 months, AND the school will NOT except this medication because it is not for the entire length of the school year (they aren’t allowed to self carry here in elementary school). Called the pharmacy and they said that I could put in for a refill when I could and get a new one- but again they can not guarantee the date on those either. They will no exchange them and don’t order anymore till someone gets one and they need to restock it. GRRRR.

    Like

    1. Cristal – thank you for commenting – I know if you contact Sanofi (manufacturers of the Auvi-Q) directly with this information they will replace your injector directly. That is what people are reporting from direct contact with the company. The more general thing, though, is that it isn’t acceptable at all to have pharmacies dispensing these.

      Like

  18. Just had the same experience. Dates: 11/14 and 12/14. Pharmacy has only seen 2/15. Called Sanofi, and they are emailing paperwork to sway for longer (but they wouldn’t say how long) expiration dates. Odd! Anyone actually receive the “swapped” Auvi Q’s?

    Like

    1. I will reach out to people I knew were trading theirs in and find out! Thanks for commenting and let us know if you get your replacements!

      Like

  19. We just picked up our first Auvi-Q for my 9 mo old and it expires Jan 15. I am kicking myself for not checking before I left Walgreens. Paid $302 with insurance and the $100 off “0” copay card.

    Like

    1. Hi Alexa – I am so sorry you are on the food allergy road with your 9 month old – January 2015 isn’t great but it sounds like from all the comments here it isn’t different from what others are experiencing. I don’t understand why pharmacies don’t view anything less than 12 months as something they shouldn’t be selling to people, especially since insurance companies aren’t covering the medicine. Granted, it may be why they aren’t stocking newer ones. . .

      Like

  20. And I thought I was the only one having this issue!!! Same thing here in Indianapolis, Indiana. Have been unable to find any auviq with expiration date past January of 2015. We need three two packs, ideally, at all times and at $246 per two pack, we cannot replace them two times per year! I sent a lengthy email explaining the issue to auviq thru the sanofi website about two weeks ago. Site said to expect a response in 2, 3 days and still no word back from them! Auviq has taken so much of the fear and anxiety out of the possibility of having to inject my son – something the epi pen jr just cannot do for me, my husband, or his preschool staff. I am so glad I have stumbled upon this site. I will be calling auviq Monday requesting replacements.

    Like

    1. Hi Laura – I hope they are able to help you. My experiences with Sanofi have always been good but I know people’s mileage may vary as with any company. Let us know how the request goes – and you are so right that the Auvi-Q takes a lot of anxiety out of leaving epinephrine with caregivers outside our families. Thank you for commenting!

      Like

  21. I have learned the hard way that you have to put your foot down with pharmacies, and really put in some legwork when filling these prescriptions. I always call around for the best price, and I get it at my local grocery store (for some reason they are less than Target, Walmart, RiteAid, etc).

    They ALWAYS check the expiration date for me, and if the expiration dates on the shelf are not a year out, they will order new stock for me if I ask them to.

    My advice is to:

    1) Always have the doc hand you a written prescription instead of calling it in, so you can shop around for price. Don’t count out your grocery store pharmacy or COSTCO. Or, you could call around before the doctor’s appt, and then you know up front your sending it somewhere that has a decent price.

    2) Call the pharmacy while it’s being filled and ask about expiration dates. If they don’t have stock that is a year out, ask them to order new stock for you. If they won’t, find a new pharmacy.

    3) If you want AUVI-Q and not EPI’s, check your insurance ahead of time. If AUVI’s aren’t covered, make sure your pharmacy is aware that you intend to pay for it anyway (if that’s what you want). Otherwise, many will assume you want what insurance covers, and they will send to your doc and ask him to re-write for epipens. You won’t find out about the change until you go to pick it up.

    Like

    1. Thank you for reading and commenting! I always get hand written prescriptions, I think it is the way to go. I know I asked them to order the injectors but they did not inspect the expiration until I was there, I had assumed ordering it meant fresh stock but you are correct that it doesn’t always mean that is the case!

      Like

    1. Thanks for the update. I left a message at Mylan today. I had a bear of a time finding an Epi Pen Jr in my area of No. California with a decent expiration date. One pharmacy had one pack with an exp. date 12 mos. out. All the other pharmacies had exp. dates between Nov 2014 and Feb 2015. When my regular pharmacy ordered new stock, they were sent April 2015 from Mylan.

      I snagged the one pkg I could find with an Aug 2015 date. So far, I have the freedom to refuse to fill the prescription for the second pack, because I still have a few pens that haven’t expired. Their exp. dates are coming up quickly. Hopefully, this will get this resolved soon.

      Like

      1. Thank you for the update and for sharing where you are – that is very helpful for other people searching for information! Let us know how it goes with Mylan!

        Like

  22. For 16 years I never had a problem with epipen expiration dates. They were always 12-18 months out. Switched to Auvi Q last year and expiration was 12 months out. Have been trying to refill and find expirations this month 8/2014 and the latest date I’ve found is 4/2015. Given the high cost even with coupon and insurance it’s ridiculous that I can’t find reasonable expiration dates! I have called pharmacies on route to places I go to on a regular basis..from Las Vegas up to Reno to the Bay Area ( Walnut Creek) to Chicago and this seems to be the norm. The distributors should be sending these back to Sanofi and getting more current Auvi Q’s . I called Sanofi to find out if waiting a month or two after expiration would be as effective in hopes of later dates showing up and they just said that epinephrine begins to break down once it’s dispensed so in other words replace at expiration. If these unreasonable expiration dates were few and far between it might be understandable but this seems to be an issue they need to address this or no amount of advertising ( as they seem to be doing now) is going to get people to switch. Distributors need to pull these off the shelf and supply with reasonable dates. Great idea, small size, easy to carry but product is no good if you need to replace it every few months plus cost with coupons about the same as epipen…..not sure what I’ll do but may go back to epipen just cause I can’t afford the additional cost annually.

    Like

  23. After 10+ years of filling EpiPen prescriptions without issue, I was completely distressed when I noticed in August 2014 that my son’s Auvi-Q pack, dispensed in December 2013, had expired in April 2014 and that my Auvi-Q pack, also dispensed in December 2013, had an expiration date of September 2014. In a total panic, I called more than a dozen pharmacies trying to find one with Auvi-Q packs on their shelf. When I finally found one, they sympathized with me completely, noting that they would never dispense an Auvi-Q or EpiPen pack within a year of the expiration date; but when I asked for the expiration dates on the replacement Auvi-Q packs, they sheepishly informed me that the expiration dates were December 2014 and April 2015.

    Although I would love to see manufactures ban the distribution of Auvi-Q and EpiPen packs within a year of the expiration date, I also feel like pharmacies and doctors should be doing more to educate patients about the proper use, storage and INSPECTION of these life-saving prescription devices – and specifically inform patients that it may be necessary to replace the prescription devise in less than 1 year.

    Like

    1. Janell – I agree wholeheartedly that the pharmacies have a big hand in this. They should know this medication is something people have on hand for extended periods of time and a short date is not workable especially considering the cost and the fact that these companies are willing to trade newer stock for older stock. Thank you for your comment!

      Like

  24. I too picked up three prescriptions of Auvi Q last week only to find the expiration date to be 8 months out. I spoke to the pharmacy and they were not willing to help and only said that those were brand new and had just arrived. The pharmacy manager at Walgreens said that it is a prescription and if it gets used, like any prescription, I would have to refill it anyway. I wanted these to be in the nurse’s office at my children’s school and now I will have to replace them before school is out for the summer. My allergist’s office stated to me that the prescription should last, at least, a year if not longer. I am also going to complain to Auvi Q
    Directly. Thank you.

    Like

  25. Thank you so much for posting the phone number. It appears they have a department set up to help us with this lapse in expiration date. They will return my call tomorrow as that office was already closed for the day 5 pm their time.. Fingers crossed!!

    Like

  26. I just found out that my daughters auvi as expire on 12-14-2014. I purchased them on May 14′ 2014 at a target pharmacy. I contacted the manufacturer today and was told that they will only replace them if they expire within 6 months of purchase. The customer service representative was so rude, demanding the exact date of purchase, like I’m supposed to remember exactly when I purchased them. I’m miffed at both the manugpfacturer and target, whom I believe should not have dispensed these pens knowing the expiration date is within a year. We’ve been using epi pens for years with no problems, I intend to purchase epi pens going forward. I’m still shocked at this situation, and agree with so many other comments that for people who can’t afford to purchase these once, are now forced to purchase them twice, in one calendar year….shameful.

    Like

    1. I am sorry you had that experience! I didn’t qualify for any program either and had Target gave me a “take it or leave it” attitude. I still want to know why the pharmacies push old stock but can’t seem to get a good answer.

      Like

  27. I too,?received auvis at the end of August that expire in January. Called sanofi . Emailed the addy given with photo of serial number and cvs receipt. I just got, today, a $400 voucher to replace them with 🙂

    Like

  28. I am glad I found this forum.
    I just picked up an Auvi-Q that will expired in 4/2015. Which is less than 3 months from now.
    It should be against the law for pharmacy to sell this particular drug with such a short expiration date.
    I will try to call Sanofi, and hope to get a resolution to this madness.
    Thanks for putting this info together so we, the other victims can benefit from this discussion.

    Like

  29. I had a prescription for an Auvi-Q .15 sent into my pharmacy and was told that they needed to order it but the Auvi-Q’s were backordered so they found another pharmacy that had an Auvi-Q (there was a May and September 2015 expiration date, I took the September one). Was wondering if anyone has had a recent experiece of this “backorder” issue?

    Also, if I got a coupon for a shortened Auvi-Q expiration date back in July, can I still get a coupon for this Auvi-Q preseciption?

    Like

    1. Good questions, JB – I hadn’t heard of the backorder explanation and I think you’d have to try to contact the support number to see if you can get another coupon. If you have any trouble getting an answer, don’t hesitate to comment again/reach out and I can try to contact the company too. Who knows what is going on!

      Like

  30. Auvi-Q just sent me an email for zero copays for 2015. However, the pharmacy just called to say they are backordered with no projected fill date….

    Like

  31. I’m coming into this thread of comments almost a year late, but I wanted to share how helpful Sanofi was regarding the short expiration dates on Auvi-Q. I purchased a 2-pack of Auvi-Q in August 2014 with a March 2015 expiration date. The retail cost at that time was $396 at RiteAid. I purchased another 2-pack in September 2014 with an expiration date of May 2015. Same price…$396 at CVS. I contacted Sanofi by telephone and told them I was disappointed that the expiration date was so soon, and they connected me to someone who asked a few questions, then gave me an email address and instructions to send a picture of the Auvi-Qs with the expiration date and the pharmacy receipt and that they would send me a coupon for $400 per pair to be used between January 2015 and June 2015. Within two weeks I received two $400 coupons toward my next couple of Auvi-Q prescriptions. Just last week I used the first coupon, assuming at $396 the new set would be at no cost to me. I was shocked to learn that the retail price of a set of Auvi-Qs was now $569.99! Snafu covered $400, my insurance covered $120, and my co-pay was $50. I’m not sure if there’s a “game” with the cost of prescription meds when a coupon is being used, but I was quite surprised at the increase in price in only six months. But then again, epinephrine is priceless when it comes to anaphylaxis…

    Like

    1. Kelly, thank you so much for this information. I asked around and other areas have them as high as $595. I have been a big supporter of the Auvi ever since they launched but I can’t justify almost $600 out of pocket every six months (considering the expiration date issues) since our insurance doesn’t cover the Epi or Auvi. I agree that epinephrine is priceless but it feels like a contract of adhesion for the delivery method(s). Thank you again for commenting and sharing this information, to say I am troubled is an understatement. Great observation regarding the liberality with which the $400 vouchers were given to those that complained quickly enough of expiration date issues but then when the vouchers come to use they may not be enough to cover costs.

      Like

  32. The price of the pen should be tied to the number of months till expiration. If you start with a base price of $500 for a pen which expires in 12 months, subtract $42 per month for every month closer to expiration. It works for me.

    Like

Comments are closed.