Food Allergy Friendly Family Meal Ideas

On a whim, I looked at my meal logging on My Fitness Pal to see how what we really eat compares to the food options I’ve blogged about and thought I’d share!  The meals we return to again and again have ingredients that are versatile so we keep them on hand and many of them are what we call our own version of “fast food.”  Not all the links below are to recipes on this site, some are on other sites or are linked to products we buy for convenience.

As with any food option, please make sure they suit your comfort level.  I, for example, will buy things for our family that are in a shared facility with, say, eggs or soy, but not tree nuts or peanuts.  Recently E has grown out of her milk allergy and we’re working on some other food challenges but aside from feeding the kids yogurt and or cheese, I haven’t gone back to dairy.  I always told myself that I’d go back in a heartbeat but then as the months wore on I realized that my excuse for eating dairy in the face of animal cruelty implications was that it would be “too hard” to stop.  When I stopped eating dairy for my daughter’s sake I realized a vegan (versus a vegetarian) diet involved many more flavors and options than I thought.

If anything jumps out as something you’d like a recipe for, please let me know in the comments.  We were able to start eating corn again this past summer but aside from tortillas, tostadas, or corn itself, many of these options are still corn free.  We also were able to re-introduce tomatoes and grapes in the past year, much to my relief.  You can also check out the What We Eat page for other recipes I’ve posted about.

Baked Potatoes with Mushrooms and Onions

IMG_2285

Bean Burgers on Rice Bread (or Tapioca Dinner Rolls) with Ketchup and other fixings

Brussels Sprouts or Asparagus (roasted) with Mushrooms (we used Portabella Mushroom Caps a few times) and Rice or Quinoa

Cauliflower “Popcorn” with Roasted Vegetables and Wild Rice

Cereal or Granola and Rice Milk

Chickpea UnTuna Salad (here’s a recipe I started with but of course leave out the nuts)

Green Lentils, Rice, and Plain Coconut Milk Yogurt

Grilled Cheese (Daiya) on Rice Bread

Masala Dosas with Coconut Milk Yogurt

Misto alla Griglia with Wild Rice

Nachos with Daiya and Pinto Beans

Pakoras with Quinoa and Vegetables

Persian Lima Bean Rice with Tomato Onion Salad (I make a healthier version of both these days with a lot less oil)

Quinoa and Roasted Asparagus or Corn

Salad (Quinoa with Cilantro Lime Dressing or with Brown Rice Couscous)

Saffron Rice with Beans and Baked Yams

Shepherd’s Pie with Fresh Cranberry Sauce

(Baked) Spaghetti Squash with Marinara Sauce (I’ve cut the oil and sugar in this recipe with great results)

Spinach and Mushroom Risotto

Steamed Vegetables and Rice or Quinoa and Marinara Sauce

Steamed Artichokes with Roasted Onions and Quinoa with Balsamic Vinegar

Sunshine Burgers (or Quinoa Burgers) and Alphatots (or Oven Fries)

IMG_1877

Tabbouli with Falafel and Bean Dip

Tostadas topped with Refried Beans, Guacamole, Salsa, Lettuce, and Tomatoes

Wild Rice (or Quinoa) and Oven Roasted Vegetables with Balsamic Vinagarette

What are some of your family’s “fast” dinner options?

5 thoughts on “Food Allergy Friendly Family Meal Ideas

    1. Yes, I can very much relate to food ruts – you go through the same rotation a few times and it just needs something new! Thank you for reading and commenting!

      Like

  1. What a great resource – I love so many ideas on this list, and I missed some of them when you first posted them. I’m going to have to try the lima bean dish. I didn’t like lima beans as a kid, but I’ve outgrown my mushroom and spinach aversions, so I have high hopes for limas!

    Like

    1. I grew up with them so I love them but I think you may like fresh ones over canned ones if you want to test your aversion first. The recipe also works with green beans though a green bean based rice recipe I use involves tomato paste in the stage where you fry the beans and the onions. Also delicious, now I want to hurry home and make it!

      Like

Comments are closed.