Tivoli Truckin’ Tuesdays for Children

image

I’ve never been to Tivoli Village in the North West part of Las Vegas but when Emily (introduced to me by another local blogger, Sarah of Wandering Off) of Family and Life in Las Vegas shared the July Tivoli Truckin’ Tuesdays schedule on Instagram I knew we’d be making a trek over there if the weather cooperated!  The morning of July 17th was fairly cool and breezy so we headed over.  Now, we’ve been to the annual (usually every March) Touch a Truck event so be aware that this is a lot more low key but it is also free and not as loud and crowded.

image

Each week they have a different selection of vehicles to see.  Some you can climb in (and on) while others may be a little more restricted.

image

The Nevada Energy van was a fascinating one and the moving van you see to the left was a favorite of E’s – she kept running up and down the ramp.  The real star was NDOT‘s street sweeper.  We even got a great state map and coloring books.  I also appreciated the patience and friendliness of their representative.  He said good-bye to the kids by name after hearing me talk to them which was nice of him.  They got to sit inside the vehicle and loved it.

image

Had to get a shot of this gorgeous clock, I told E that it rang to tell the time and as it chimed I tried to count along with her only to be interrupted: “Mommy, I am trying to listen to the [clock’s] music!”

image

There are two more days you can check this out, July 24th and 31st.  Emily told me that on the final day there is a book drive for gently used kids books:

image

Even something as simple as a chain hanging from the moving truck was cause for excitement.  I was really hoping for R’s favorite, a garbage truck, but he was very excited about the yellow street sweeper as yellow seems to be his favorite color right now.

image

I didn’t realize there was underground parking which is great in the heat so be sure to drive around a bit to find it.  I didn’t mind our outside parking but it was also a beautiful morning.  I’m not sure we’ll make it back because it is a very long drive from our side of town but do check it out, especially since it starts at 9am and there is so little that is available for kids that are early risers (and therefore early nappers).

2 thoughts on “Tivoli Truckin’ Tuesdays for Children

  1. Looks like you had a great time! Sorry it was such a drive! They have lots of great events throughout the year! Also re-read my email from Tivoli and learned they will also be taking children’s shoes on the 31st! Two great needs! Books and shoes!

    Like

    1. I will certainly keep my eyes peeled for future events, at least most of the drive is on the freeway or Summerlin Parkway and I can plan other errands on that side of town if we do go! Glad to know they’re also collecting shoes, thanks for the heads up!

      Like

Comments are closed.