Pebble Park

image

I had the kids all geared up to go to the splash pad at Town Square only to find a sign awaiting us that indicated the whole park area was closed that day.  Lunchtime was fast approaching so I did a quick search online to see where we could go instead and by happy accident discovered Pebble Park.  Despite its Henderson address it is actually a Clark County Park but we found it to be pretty well kept.  It is about parallel on the map to another park we’ve enjoyed, Paseo Vista Park.

image

The only parking is on the street but it is across the street from a big movie theater anchored mall on Pebble and Eastern, just a bit south of Star Nursery.  The theater is actually where my husband and I had our first date so it was surreal to think I was just across the street 6 years later with our children.

image

There are two gated in areas, one for the play structure and one for the small, but varied, splash pad.  We’ve already been back once since because it is kind of small and quiet.  There are benches by the splash pad that benefit from some shade trees which I especially like.  E called the water feature above the “basketball hoop” and I thought that she had a great point!

image

Here you can see the proximity of the play structure to the splash pad.  To the left is part of a long trail that seemed well used when we visited the park on a Sunday morning.

image

This picnic area is adjacent to the splash pad, in the distance is the 215 behind a sound wall.

image

The downside to this park is that there are no bathrooms!  I took the kids to what I thought was a bathroom building but it turned out to be an electrical control area.  I find this circumstance a lot more in Clark County Parks (such as Harmony Park) than Henderson ones.  Speaking of Clark County Parks, the rumor is that Sunset Park is supposed to be getting a splash pad and we’re really excited about the prospect.  Hopefully they finish the renovations there soon!  The potential Henderson water park project has secured financing per recent news (hat tip to Elizabeth for the heads up) so new ways to cool off next summer abound.

Between my job (which has been going really well!), our usual daily routine, and exercising more there hasn’t been much time to spare for keeping up on twitter or the blog.  I am always here if anyone has food allergy or other questions, even when posting is scarce, I can point you to someone with the right information if I don’t know the answer.  Costco currently has Harmonics Flooring on coupon so my husband’s post about our installation process has been getting some new comments and we enjoy helping everyone out so don’t be shy!