Arugula White Bean Dip Recipe

My kids love bean dip.  I think most children love dipping their food as a general rule but bean dip is a great option because it packs a nutritional punch.  Despite being a daily staple, I haven’t posted our usual hummus recipe because it is different every time – a little of this, a little of that, whatever beans we have on hand, all thrown into the food processor.  Enter this recipe for Arugula White Bean Dip by Maggie Verderame, founder of Kids Do Yoga located at The District at Green Valley Ranch.  My friend Elizabeth forwarded me the recipe knowing how much E and R love bean dip because the inclusion of arugula is a great way to include more greens in their diet.  We enjoyed it so much I e-mailed Maggie for permission to feature it here and she was happy to!

The recipe is really open to customization – different beans or different greens – but it is creamiest with white beans.  When I made it with garbanzo beans it wasn’t as smooth but a little olive oil or Sun Butter helps.  I have it in my head to try it with spinach and artichoke at some point soon!  In the version I photographed I doubled the lemon and the beans to make a more substantial portion and added extra garlic so it is truly flexible.  The best recipes give you a new idea in the kitchen that you can experiment with and this is a great example – I would have never considered doing a cooked bean dip before now.

_____

Arugula-White Bean Dip by Maggie Verderame (photos by Homa Woodrum)

Maggie Verderame is a mother, a yoga teacher, a singer-songwriter, a writer, and a vegetarian home-cook. Through her Kids Do Yoga™ program, Maggie writes the blog, ‘Mindful Mommy Moments’ where she offers observations in yoga with children, mindful parenting, and kid-friendly vegetarian recipes.  Please visit www.Kids-Do-Yoga.com for more information.

Supplies

Cutting board, knife

Food processor or blender

Bowl/sealable container

Ingredients

2-3 Tbs. Olive Oil

1 Large Yellow Onion, coarsely diced

1 tsp Crushed Garlic

5 oz. Fresh Arugula (Trader Joe’s has the best prices as of writing this)

1, 15 oz Can of White Northern / Cannelini Beans, drained and rinsed

Juice of 1/2 a Lemon

Sea Salt

Directions

Heat 1 tablespoon of olive oil in a medium skillet over medium-low flame/heat.  Add onions and garlic to oil once it is warm and thinning. Cook until softened. Add arugula one handful at a time and toss with the onion mixture to coat with oil. As each handful of arugula wilts, add another and gently toss until all 5 ounces has been cooked down.

Then add the beans and lemon juice. Mix gently until combined and beans are warmed. Turn off heat. Transfer hot bean
mixture to a blender or food processor and puree, adding about 2 more tablespoons of oil as needed to assist with the blending.

Mixture should be thick and creamy, somewhat like hummus. Transfer to a bowl or storage container and add salt to taste.  Cover mixture and let it sit at room temperature for at least a half hour before refrigerating or serving.

_____

In Maggie’s original recipe she suggests serving the dip as a crostini topper.  If you have an allergen free bread you love, I think it would be great but I served it with potato chips above and below I actually ate some still warm with a lunchtime batch of yukon gold potato hash browns.  I like this photo because you can see R’s little fingers trying to pull the plate to himself.  He also likes to point at the food I’m photographing as if he is showcasing it.

The flavors do develop more the next day but I really like it both fresh and chilled.  Thank you again, Maggie for letting me share this – it is a great recipe for food allergy families for whom beans are safe.  I actually just finished up this particular batch while typing up this post, let me know in the comments if you try this recipe out!

(Shared on the 4/6/12 Allergy Friendly Friday link up at CybelePascal.com, click through for great allergy friendly recipes!)

8 thoughts on “Arugula White Bean Dip Recipe

  1. I’ve been enjoying your site so I’m nominating you for the Illuminating Blogger Award for informative, illuminating blog content. I know not everyone participates in blog awards but I hope you’ll at least check it out because it’s a great way to discover new blogs and meet new web friends. If you’re interested in participating, you can check out the details at my site … http://foodstoriesblog.com/illuminating-blogger-award/ … Either way, hope you’re having a great day!

    Like

Comments are closed.