Clark County Museum Ghost Town

We loved the Clark County Museum so much the last time we visited that I had to take my mother in law and husband to check it out.  When we went before I wasn’t able to make it to all areas on the property so I wanted to post some more photos I was able to get, this time of the “Ghost Town” area.

There’s a lot of old mining equipment and some little outbuildings, including replicas of native grass structures.

I think my favorite was the old Tuscarora Jail, circa 1880.  I love cowboy movies so it is neat to see buildings like this in person.

The walking loop is not as long as it seems on the map and though it is a little bumpy you can make it with a stroller along the path but not necessarily into the buildings.

Of course with all the rusty equipment you’ll want to keep the kids close by but it is a lot of fun to look around.  There were several bunnies running around in the area too!

Last time we went to the museum everything was decorated for the holidays so I did like seeing the exhibits in their regular state.  I really can’t say enough good things about the museum – the staff are all friendly and the grounds are well kept, not too crowded, and the price of $2 for adults can’t be beat.  I realize it is a long drive if you are in Northern Las Vegas but the low cost of admission takes the edge off the splurge for gas.  Check it out before the weather gets too hot!

2 thoughts on “Clark County Museum Ghost Town

  1. Hahaha… I was married in Clark County. Las Vegas

    Is this the plalce that is near old las vegas? I was going to go there but we had people with us and they didn’t like doing much of anything. Jeeze!! Now I wish I would of ditched them and gone.

    Like

    1. Cool! This museum is off of Boulder Highway so it is down in Henderson. I love old buildings and for $2 it can’t be beat. A lot of the buildings were rescued from downtown/old Vegas. I lived here 11 years before finding out about the museum so I doubt it is on many tourists’ to see lists! 🙂

      Like

Comments are closed.