VegBooks.Org Review – Moonshot: The Flight of Apollo 11

Here are some of my recent Vegbooks.org reviews!

Moonshot: The Flight of Apollo 11 – this is really worth your time to check out from the library, click through for my full review.  I got the suggestion to read it from @babytoolkit on twitter — her suggestions for good reads were: “Moonshot (Floca), Visitor for Bear (Becker), LMNO Peas (or anything by Keith Baker), Chalk (Thomson), Sick Day for Amos McGee.”

We actually checked all of them out and they were all well done.  It is so nice to have personal suggestions from people about books their children love.  Visitor for Bear was cute, a bear doesn’t want a mouse to stay and values his private time but by the end they are friends.  Great illustrations.  LMNO Peas is an alphabet book with little peas acting out all of the activities related to each letter so that is a lot of fun!  Chalk is wordless but is about some children discovering a bag of chalk on a rainy day and the things they draw become real, like butterflies or a dinosaur.  They manage to cleverly escape the dinosaur and return the chalk to where it began so other children can play with it.  The illustrations are almost photographic.  A Sick Day for Amos McGee is about zoo animals helping their caretaker when he is sick but if you can ignore the fact that it tries to make zoos sound like places animals want to be in, it is pretty charming.

Ever since starting to write for VegBooks I’ve been on the lookout for what messages books are sending about animals and how we treat them.  To me zoos with research and conservation components are good things but I know that they make other vegetarians/vegans uncomfortable.  I think it is all very personal.  We most definitely do not support circuses, it surprised me this summer in E’s preschool skills class at the community center that the teacher was obsessed with the circus since it was coming to town.  So many crafts were circus-centric and it was a good chance to talk to E about what is wrong with them.  Oops, that was a bit of a tangent but I am pretty tangential most of the time.  I think the thing I most often hear from people is “get to the point!”

Anyway, I also recently reviewed (using publisher copies): Whooo Loves You? and Are You Eating Something Green?

Also, one of my recipes was posted as a guest post on the Vegetarian Experience, a vegetarian blog by a mom in the UK!  She was going on vacation and asked on Twitter for guest posts so I was happy to share.  It is fun to get a window into the world of other veg parents, especially with the added twist of being abroad.

 

2 thoughts on “VegBooks.Org Review – Moonshot: The Flight of Apollo 11

  1. I’m mostly of the same mind as you with regard to zoos/circuses. I won’t visit the Las Vegas Zoo, for example, but we are going to the San Diego Zoo (even though it makes me a bit uncomfortable to be doing so). I immensely enjoyed the zoos I visited as a child and I do think they had an impact on the way I feel about animals now. I also think zoos in general have been improving over time as more of the general public because more sensitive to animal issues. Still, it’s an imperfect situation for the individual animals involved, even in very high quality zoos, which is where my discomfort lies. They’re being used as a means to an end. In the case of high quality zoos, I do think the ends (research and conservation that you mention as well as raising interest/awareness in the public) do – just – justify the means, but I can easily see how someone else may be of a different opinion.

    If it hadn’t been so expensive to go see Circus Vargas when they came to town, we actually may have gone. This particular circus had animal issues in the past – but they removed the exotic animals from their show years ago – and dogs/horses were removed recently. Now it is a human-only show. I think it’s a good thing to support those circuses that are trying to carry on without using animals. I absolutely will not support any circus that uses animals.
    http://www.dailybreeze.com/news/ci_16504458

    Like

    1. I like your idea of supporting a circus that are human only, we are having more and more interesting talks with E on the subject of animals. She is very interested to know who is “nice to animals” and who “eats animals” — she even tried to confront someone the other day and I try to tell her that we show people how yummy vegetables are but we have to let people make their own decisions but, like most toddlers, she wants to fit things into a hard and fast rule. I have great memories of zoos but I don’t think my parents ever thought about what was really going on. Then again, we raised and slaughtered our own sheep so they probably weren’t too concerned about the rights of animals. As far as ends/means, I think it is one of those things with zoos where I’d rather people give money and attention to the “better” sort because there is certainly a market no matter what for people to want to see animals in captivity. Imperfect, as you said. Sigh.

      Like

Comments are closed.