Torrey Pines State Natural Reserve, California Photos

So this is a little out of time order for our San Diego trip but I think I’ll put the posts in time order via a summary post later on.  These photos are from Torrey Pines State Natural Reserve, website here, which is beach adjacent so you could pay $10 to park, hike a little and then take a dip in the ocean.

We’d actually gone to a different beach (La Jolla) that morning, went back to the hotel for E and R’s naps and discovered it was too late to head over to the Botanical Garden like we’d hoped (and brought a Groupon for, why do things close at 5pm anyway?  I think Vegas spoils us in that regard).

So a little bid of google map searching yielded this park which was open until sunset.  I took the above photo to capture the mix of pinks, purples, and yellows for design purposes.  I just thought it was a neat mix of sorbet shades.

When we go there we saw it had a great beach so we will hopefully be back for the beach next time we are in the area.  These photos are from our hike, you can see a view of the beach that was near the park entrance above.

Does anyone know what this plant is?  A knowledgeable friend suggested it was an Echevaria and I am inclined to agree but of course I didn’t take a picture of the plant’s base.  I just love the color and geometry of it.

A great, worthwhile outing that is a good option especially in the early morning or late afternoon when other things are closed.  I got great shots of the kids and you can’t beat the sound of the ocean while you walk.  I think I’d exercise more if I could run next to the ocean, wouldn’t you?

2 thoughts on “Torrey Pines State Natural Reserve, California Photos

Comments are closed.