Sunshine Burgers – New Find

I thought these would be perfect to share on the 4th of July, burgers certainly are an American staple.  Happy 4th of July, everyone!  I moved to Vegas in 2000 right after the 4th so, aside from a brief foray to Northern Nevada, it marks the 11th year I’ve lived here.  Wow.

What do you eat for a veggie burger when you don’t eat meat, wheat, soy, corn, peanuts, tree nuts, milk, eggs, sesame, etc. etc.?  Sunshine Burgers are my go to quick lunch for E when we don’t have enough leftovers from the day before to make a proper lunch of it.  The ingredients of one or two of the varieties have sesame I believe but several of them don’t.  My husband is not a fan of these but I enjoy them and E does too.  They don’t really hold together well and you have to cook them on low for 7 minutes on each side in the frying pan (if you try a higher heat they really will break apart) but they do the trick.

I make a bean burger of sorts but I haven’t perfected the recipe into something I can do consistently but I will share when I do figure it out.  Look at these ingredients below: brown rice, sun flower seeds, carrots, herbs and sea salt.  Simple and wonderful.  I cook a lot at home but everyone needs “fast food” now and then.  These are pricey for what they are but they do go on sale at Whole Foods and Sunflower Market but watch those expiration dates.  Allergy friendly food tends to not sell quickly so you have to make sure they aren’t about to expire.