Henderson Bird Viewing Preserve

The Henderson Bird Viewing Preserve has been on our “to check out” list for a while but we opted for the Clark County Wetlands Park instead a few months ago.  Before it heated up too much the Bird Preserve seemed like a good idea.  Plus, it is near Costco and we tend to need a trip to Costco once a week (my new glasses and my contacts ended up being ready for pickup so that was a nice bonus).

The directions can be a little tricky with some construction blocking Galleria Drive where we wanted to be at but a little detour and we were able to approach from the southern side without issue.  The preserve is adjacent to a water treatment plant so it seems a little industrial until you drive up to the parking area which is full of trees.  You’ll need to sign in and out and they give you a map of the little lakes that dot the area.  The walk is a big loop with a few offshoots to bird blinds and even a neat boardwalk.

I’m putting the picture in chronological order from our walk. . .

image

Doesn’t it look lush?  Not really like Vegas at all, I love water so it was nice to hear the sounds of the water lapping around and see the sparkles of the sun glinting on the water’s surface.

image

I really liked the green and yellow here.

image

I had never noticed these plants but after seeing them at the Preserve they are catching my eye from time to time.

image

Some of the water was still like glass while you can see on the left some movement.  I love that.

image

Oh, and there were birds of course!

image

I was trying to get close to this lizard but. . .

image

. . .he ran away (see upper right hand corner above).

image

Some more green and yellow!

image

The hours in case anyone wants to stop by, it is free by the way.

image

The entrance sign, there’s a place to park bikes so I’m guessing you can’t ride the trail but we used the double bike trailer in its jogger stroller form with no problems.

(Here’s a video we took while there: click here.)

6 thoughts on “Henderson Bird Viewing Preserve

  1. Billy and I used to ride our bikes over to the preserve when we lived nearby. Haven’t taken Amelia yet…last time I was there I was about 2.5 weeks overdue with her (you know, lots of walking supposedly helps kick-start labor – ha!)

    Like

    1. We walked at the mall when I was overdue as it was so hot! I really liked the length of our walk at the preserve but E was sort of done before the end of it. 🙂

      Like

Comments are closed.