Roasted Curry Chickpeas Recipe

I sadly don’t have the magazine clipping handy where I originally got the idea for this recipe, I will update this post when I find it.  It came from a garnish to go on top of a tomato soup but it quickly outshone the soup and is something we’ve made often, later with adjustments to make it allergy friendly.  Based on that original recipe, I used to fry these in the frying pan but it is hard to monitor another hot pan when there are kids underfoot and in your arms so I decided to try the oven after reading this pumpkin spice roasted chickpea recipe.

My daughter eats these like there’s no tomorrow but you can adjust the spices if you think they are too strong.  More photos here.

Supplies

Jelly Roll Pan/Cookie Sheet

Large Resealable Bag

Spatula

Ingredients

2 cans of chickpeas, drained and rinsed

2 teaspoons granulated garlic

1 tablespoon turmeric

2 tablespoons curry powder

1 teaspoon smoked paprika (or regular)

1 tablespoon potato flour

1 tablespoon garbanzo flour (you can use different flours as your needs dictate)

1/4 teaspoon salt

3 tablespoons of canola oil

Directions

Preheat your oven to 375 degrees Fahrenheit.  Take a resealable bag and add the spices and flours to it, shake to combine.  Add the chickpeas and shake to coat (kids love helping to do this).  Coat your pan with the oil and spread the chickpeas on it.  Roast in the oven for 10 minutes, shake the pan to move the chickpeas around (or use a spatula) and then continue roasting for about another 15 minutes.  Serve alone or atop a salad.

Leftovers (if there are any, we tend to polish these off) can be eaten hot or cold.

9 thoughts on “Roasted Curry Chickpeas Recipe

    1. Awesome, I hope it turns out well! I usually eyeball the mix so I think you can really make it your own. The oven temp is something I debated because I like them to have a crispness.

      What I’d like to start doing if I ever have time is cook dried chickpeas and have them in the freezer to avoid the whole canned food issue but for now it is really convenient.

      Like

      1. I buy all my beans dry, cook, and then freeze in can-size increments. It’s super easy and fast if you have a pressure cooker. The other method I use is even easier…just put the dry beans in a slow cooker. Mine are done in 4-6 hours depending on the bean. Just don’t use the slow cooker method for kidney beans because they have a toxin that is destroyed by high temperatures (slow cookers don’t get hot enough).

        I liked your roasted chickpeas seasoning a lot! Thanks!

        Like

Comments are closed.