Food Find: Enjoy Life Chewy Bars (Revisited)

Enjoy Life Chewy Bars

This is about as late as I’ve ever gotten with a product review.  I took photos of the free Chewy Bars I received in the mail from Enjoy Life Foods for review purposes on October 8th and it is already November 14th.  The good news is that during that time the Cocoa Loco bars have made it to Las Vegas store shelves and they are the bee’s knees (modern definition of course).  Which will lead me to point out that there are no photos of said variety of bars.

Enjoy Life Chewy Bars

Exhibit A: The only bar that survived for photographic purposes.

We opened the Sunbutter Crunch bars first and they were just as good as they had been previously.  The Caramel Apple and Mixed (formerly “Very”) Berry varieties had improved (more consistent) texture and a more balanced taste.  The packaging for each bar now leaves less space around the bar but they are actually the same portion they’ve always been.  As a packaging and design nerd I really love all the details in the box redesign as well.

IMG_0684

I tasted the Cocoa Loco bars last because I was worried that the recent recipe change (which I first blogged about in an update to my original review of this line of bars) would alter my favorite flavor.  The newer version is richer and reminiscent of those Little Debbie chocolate brownies I used to eat as a child.  Delicious!

I was bemoaning on twitter that I couldn’t find all varieties locally to Joel Warady, Enjoy Life’s CMO the funniest thing was that when I got to meet him in person at this year’s Las Vegas FARE Walk one of the first things he asked me was whether I had found the Cocoa Loco bars on shelves.  That’s the level of detail you get with the folks at Enjoy Life.  I was humbled by their post about the Food Allergy Bloggers Conference as it captured much of what Jenny and I were setting out to do with encouraging personal connections with sponsors instead of a traditional expo format.  Joel also spoke to E and asked her what her about her allergies and told her that none of those things are in any of their products.  That they wouldn’t be in their products.  Oats are a tough one to avoid in the top 8 free arena so I’ve always appreciated that there are no oats in Enjoy Life products.

At any rate, to state what must be obvious, I love this company.  So many other families feel the same way because they are not afraid to keep changing and adapting both for continued product quality and innovation.  A dear friend of mine was able to take a few hours away from her family to come to the conference and I knew I had to introduce her to Joel.  We had a great chat (he even told us what Costco will be carrying from Enjoy Life soon!) and made sure he knew that Enjoy Life was a lifesaver to so many food allergic families.  I’m sure he’s heard that before but it is true.  We leave the allergist’s office with a diagnosis and turn to other sources to figure out what to do next.  We read labels and call companies.  Enjoy Life “gets it.”

Our options have broadened since E outgrew her wheat, soy, milk, and egg allergies but we still love Enjoy Life’s bars, cookies, chips (chocolate and lentil) and stock up often.  E and her friend K are able to share snacks on playdates because they can both have Enjoy Life treats – how neat it must be to make products that are impacting childhood memories in a positive way.

By way of a teaser, my next Enjoy Life review is going to be of their new dark chocolate morsels and we can’t wait to try them!  I have a few ideas for recipes that can incorporate a darker chocolate especially as holiday baking season approaches.

4 Comments

  1. I like that he remembered you as the Cocoa Loco bar whiner :) It says a lot about how this company cares about their customers. I haven’t tried the revised Cocoa Locos, yet. I thought they were pretty tasty, aside from being somewhat dry. Little Debbie brownie-flavored is very promising :)

    Like

  2. It’s funny that you mention the Little Debbie brownies because I thought the same thing when I tasted the new and improved double chocolate brownie cookies. Actually, it was the LD fudge rounds that these little gems called to mind, but same idea. Yum!!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

