“Food Allergy 101 & Caregiver Training” on February 9, 2013

epi

epi

I wanted to share for local folks that there is a great opportunity to bring a friend, family member, or caregiver for the child in your life to a free training that will help them gain a better understanding of food allergy management!  Be sure to RSVP to fapelasvegas@gmail.com soon so that they know to expect you at:

Food Allergy 101 & Caregiver Training

The event is free, from 3:00 p.m. to 4:30 p.m. at St. Rose Hospital San Martin (8280 West Warm Springs Road, Las Vegas, NV 89113) on Saturday, February 9, 2013.

One thing we discussed at the last Food Allergy Parent Education group planning meeting was what would help FAPE families.  The topic of babysitting came up – how do you trust someone to watch your child with food allergies knowing how our own road to learning about food allergy management is so ongoing?  Also, there’s a feeling sometimes when you’re giving someone the breakdown of what to do in case of a reaction, or even just what food allergies mean for your family on a day to day basis, that they probably think you’re being “overprotective.”  This is a great training to address that.  Dr. Sean McKnight of Allergy Partners (he is the allergist for many of my friends and very supportive of food allergy awareness) is offering his knowledge to attendees to help them understand all the basics.  I haven’t heard one of his presentations yet myself but based on what I hear about past events, it will be well worth your time to attend.

Also, the next FAPE playdate is in Summerlin on February 5, so check out the FAPE Events Calendar page to get the details and RSVP if you are interested!

In other news…

  • Whether you are local or not, if you’d like to sponsor a booth or even get your name on the FARE (formerly FAAN) walk shirt for 2013, there is no time like the present.  I am trying to help gather support for the event in whatever way my schedule can spare so I thought I’d mention it here on the blog.  For a $1,000 sponsorship, for example, you get a booth and recognition on the walk shirt.  The event is fun (see my recap for 2012) and well attended (they are expecting around 3,000 attendees this year).
  • The Auvi-Q is now available in the United States and I am going to try to get a prescription filled for it soon.  It is an Epi-Pen (our Epi-Pen Jr. is pictured above) competitor that is voice guided and compact (see Jenny’s post about it and Caroline’s post as well – they were both able to preview the device recently).  The best news is that the company has a discount coupon right now that will make our epinephrine refill much cheaper this year and you can obtain it at: https://www.auvi-q.com/sign-up.  In a way, this is a perfect tie-in regarding the February 9th Food Allergy 101 presentation – the idea of a voice guided injector is promising because it would offer extra guidance to caregivers at a time when every moment counts.

There are so many dedicated folks out there offering their time and energy to not just care for their own loved ones with food allergies, but to educating others and raising funds for research, that it feels really exciting.  On the other hand, I do admit I have moments where my heart feels a little broken to consider the looming threat that food allergies represent for my children.  I know we are lucky that we can “manage” food allergies to a certain extent, of course, but as we prepare for our daughter to enter kindergarten this year I keep thinking of how life-threatening food allergies are impacting our family.

I don’t mean to not end on a positive note, so I will say that sometimes we aren’t active about something we care about because when the news all seems promising we figure it has been taken care of, that perhaps our help is not needed.  This is not the case.  The more I get to see “behind the scenes” in a field such as this, the more I realize that anything you or I can offer is going to actually make a difference.  For example:  I sometimes start conversations with people at the grocery store that seem to be having a hard time in the gluten-free aisle.  Yes, just like in a product commercial where a random stranger starts gushing about their favorite cough medicine, which is strange considering I’m an introvert (and yet I have a blog, I know).  At any rate, I was looking at site stats for the blog and this link was pointing to one of my posts.  It was a bookmark on Pinterest and the pinner wrote: “As I stared completely confused by the overwhelming types of flours in the market, this sweet woman toting her 2 kiddos went out of her way to help me figure out what was best for my allergen-free diet!”  Let’s just say, reading that made my day.

So, please RSVP at the e-mail above if you can make it to the training and if you have questions about contributing to the Las Vegas 2013 FARE walk, let me know!

3 Comments

  1. Homa, How was the care giver training? Thank you for your honest sharing of your feelings. Sometimes it feels enormous then other days the clouds move aside for the sunshine. Thankfully, I can help those clouds move aside by reading blogs like yours!

    Like

    • I wasn’t able to go (my nephew’s birthday party ran long and the kids didn’t cooperate with nap time) but Dr. McKnight spoke to a packed room (people even had to stand) and I know that the event was videotaped so I’m hoping to be able to share the video when it is uploaded. And you are correct, there are sunshine days even among the cloudy ones. I’m glad that this cheered you, I have been so swamped that I haven’t had a chance to really touch base with you lately but I love keeping up to date with your blog!

      Like

  2. Pingback: Feb Living with Food Allergies Blog Carnival | www.gratefulfoodie.comwww.gratefulfoodie.com

Leave a Reply

