Sewing for Toddlers

I often “pin” crafts on pinterest (my craft “board” is here, pinterest is a site where people can easily share ideas and images while discovering others with similar tastes) but don’t usually try them out so this is a first!  I saw this (from “Just One Mom Trying”) pinnned (via Allison McDonald of No Time for Flash Cards) and it sounded so simple.  Burlap fabric, yarn needle, and yarn were all I needed to get and E could learn how to sew.  She loves the sewing machine but I wanted to teach her how to do it by hand.  The needle two pack was $1.29 (you can use plastic sewing needles but they were $1.99 for two), the yarn was a special “craft yarn” that is cheaper ($1.79), and the burlap was $2.99 a yard.  I only bought a half yard of the burlap so it came in total to 4.48 before tax.  I forgot to use the masking tape suggested in the original post, though.

Here is E’s first project at the age of 3.  I remember learning to sew from my dad’s sister when I was 5.  So between this and already being a whiz on the balance bike (I think I rode a bike on my own around age 6) she is already doing better than her mama!

image

Because of E’s allergies we don’t do things like finger painting and the like so this was a great craft for her!  She helped me choose the yarn and was so excited to get started.  My sister in law suggested an embroidery hoop would make it easier for her to hold the fabric so that is something to consider.  I was worried the fabric would be too rough but it was 100% Jute and not too scratchy.  They also had something called “monk’s cloth” that had a large weave and was softer but it was $12.99 a yard.

R will be ready for this as soon as he doesn’t put so much in his mouth though he seemed really interested in what his big sister was doing.  We have plenty of yarn and fabric left so I think a fun version of this might be to try and follow a design she draws on the burlap or maybe practice some letters.

5 Comments

  1. I have a similar project bookmarked to do with Amelia. E has an advantage that she has a mom that can sew herself. I never had an interest as a kid, so I never learned. I’ve tried a couple of times over the last 5 years or so, but nothing has stuck. Maybe Amelia and I can learn together.

  2. Pingback: First Quilt Square | Oh Mah Deehness!

Leave a Reply

