Vegan Cream of Mushroom Soup

When I was pregnant with E, I loved to have the canned cream of mushroom soup.  Well, let me rephrase that, it was one of the few things I could eat without being queasy.  My husband used to make me the soup alongside some cucumber slices with a bit of salt.  I’d eat the soup with a splash of lemon juice and it was really comfort food for me from childhood.  Now we can’t have eggs or dairy. . .or soy, or corn, or wheat, or nuts, etc.  I finally got around to trying the recipe Cybele Pascal posted online (full recipe here).  I couldn’t find “quick cooking tapioca” so I used regular tapioca pearls and had to cook the soup a little longer.  It tastes exactly like the original, especially since I added a dash of salt and a teaspoon or so of lemon juice to my bowl.  We’ll be doubling the recipe next time because it only makes a little over 2 cups of soup.

Two delicious cups of soup.

4 Comments

  1. This looks delicious. I think I shall ty my own mushroom soup soon – once I have made some distance between it and two other soups I just blogged… too many soups at this time of year. Then again, can there be too much soup?

Leave a Reply

